Loving Life But Lighter Professional Blog Reflection

The professional blog i have know was not my first attempt at a professional blog, my first was called Cultured Sarah and that was going to be all things cultural around the city, with a focus on smaller events and groups who do not have the glamour of places life Hull Truck Theatre.

It was a good idea and in theory would work well, however in reality I didn’t have time to go to all the events I wanted, this was down in part to University work load. I also work 20 hours very weekend. I feel I could not update the blog as often as required to retain people’s interest and attract new followers.

To make a blog work, there has to be frequent posts, interesting articles based around whats relevant, fun and informative. I felt this was not possible at the time.

This is my new professional blog is called lovinglifebutlighter.wordpress.com

capture

It is designed to be a personal, relate-able and easy to read.

The name was chosen as it indicates that you can love life whilst loosing weight.

I chose the theme because I wanted something that reflected my  personality. It was important that the first impression they get reflects the kind of content they will find. The colours are light and the sight is informal. This reflects my writing style rather than academic and formal. It is aimed to be light and chatty with a relaxed personal tone.

When looking into the demographic for my blog I made the decision early on not to aim for a specific age range, rather people who may be interested in the subject matter. For this reason I read several similar blogs some well established and some more recent. The language used was simple to read without being to basic.

The blog is in part aimed to take you along my weight loss journey, each week I update on how much I’ve lost at my weight watchers meeting.

I write about tips and helpful hints I pick up along the way. This includes buy’s of the week and posts on well being.

I use pictures, including ones of myself as I believe it helps make the blog be seen as authentic and personable.

There have been occasions when things haven’t gone to plan. I posted a poll on Christmas vises. It got views but no-one actually took part. The reason for this I believe was due to a wrong choice of subject matter.

I tried making a cooking video. This definitely didn’t work. It was far to long, I talked throughout. There is a second demonstration video on the blog. This was filmed with planning, research and plenty of editing. This was also submitted as part of my Creative Futures Video assignment.

The figures are as follows:

Posts 30, Views 590, Visitor 277, Most Popular Day Tuesday. Most Popular Time 21.0

7 WordPress Followers, 2 Email Followers

I feel happy with this as it has only been running for a short time, in a field with so many choices.

The followers are located accross 7 countries.

The way in which people find posts is interesting.

210 followers come from Facebook readers. This is my primary social media platform. All articles are published on here, there are also groups i am a member of where I share posts.

My twitter followers are growing but slowly.

The field I am most surprised at is the search engine option with 81 hits. This proves that my Search Engine Optimisation in working.

I have had lots of positive feedback on social media from the weight watchers groups I post on.

I am very proud of what I have produced.

 

 

Leave a Reply

