Online News Story Reflection

Initially I struggled to find a story.

There was an idea to write a story on travel issues over the holiday period, I was also researching mobile internet 4G coverage within Hull and East Riding.

The final story however picked itself. #

With the turn of the year Hull became UK City of Culture. The events of the day were amazing. I was using the New Years Day events as a whole for a different story.

The coverage of the events by The Sun and The Daily Mail together with the out pour form locals on social media changed everything.

The two national papers wrote very similar articles, both showing images of New Years Eve and New Years Day. The articles suggested that the drunken antic’s are something that can expected for the whole year.

This really annoyed me to the point I rang the Daily Mail and asked to speak to the author of the piece.

I asked him for comment on why he wrote such a story and why he used images of two different days with out making the difference clear.

The writing of a news story was not easy as I have a natural sway towards feature writing. I find it hard to not express opinion especially when it’s something I have a strong view on.

I like the online story telling tools which are available, but choosing what is most appropriate is the hard.

I do like the visual side of story telling, I think it’s very important.

Choosing the right images and tools are as important as choosing the right word, which for someone who uses 10 words instead of 2 is an ongoing challenge.

Overall I am really proud of my first online story.

It is aimed at a regional news reading audience rather than local.

The reason for this is the typical hyper local sites concentrate on a specific area for example The Avenues or Cottingham. A regional audience however would cover the whole of Hull or East Riding.

 

Leave a Reply

